Search this site or the web        powered by FreeFind
 
  Site search Web search

 

Boundary Waters Canoe Area Wilderness logo

Protect Roadless Areas
Friends of the Boundary Waters, 3/28/01


The Roadless Conservation Initiative, a plan drawn up by the Forest Service to protect nearly 58.5 million acres of the last untouched areas in our national forests, should have taken effect on March 13, 2001.  In Minnesota, the plan would have given protection to 62,000 acres of the Superior National Forest, of which approximately 50,000 acres lie adjacent to the Boundary Waters Wilderness.  Instead, the plan has encountered numerous obstacles under the Bush Administration.  Upon taking office, the Bush administration delayed the effective date until May 12, 2001. There have been threats to overturn the Roadless Initiative by a vote of the U.S. Congress. Now the administration is refusing to fight a legal challenge against the initiative brought by timber-giant Boise Cascade and the state of Idaho.

The Roadless Initiative was the fruit of more than 600 public hearings. Approximately 95 percent of the 1.6 million people who commented expressed their support for the plan.   In Minnesota (the 18th most-responsive state), over 23,000 people submitted comments to the Forest Service, with the overwhelming majority in favor of the plan.  To overturn the roadless rule would be a blatant disregard of all those comments.

Urge your representative to oppose efforts to undermine this historic conservation plan!  It is especially important that residents of Northern Minnesota contact Senator Mark Dayton.

Senator Dayton can be reached by contacting:

Sen. Mark Dayton
SR-346, Russell Senate Bldg
Washington, DC. 20510
ph. (202) 224-3244
fax (202) 228-2186

For addresses of other Representatives, please visit www.house.gov/writerep
For addresses of other Senators, please visit www.senate.gov/contacting

****************************************************************

MINNESOTA OHV LEGISLATION NEEDS YOUR HELP TODAY!

The bill that would bring responsible use of off-highway vehicles (OHVs) to Minnesotašs public lands is being heard in the Senate Environment and Natural Resources Policy Committee this week!   

MnUsa and ATVAM are mounting a massive campaign to kill this sensible legislation, and the bill will not pass unless you call or e-mail the Minnesota Senators listed below.

Tell these Senators to support SENATE FILE 1381 - TO RESTRICT OHVs ON
STATE FOREST LANDS TO DESIGNATED TRAILS ONLY.

All phone numbers listed have the 651 area code.

Chair: Jane Krentz -296-7061  sen.jane.krentz@senate.leg.state.mn.us

Vice Chair: David J. Tomassoni -296-8017 sen.david.tomassoni@senate.leg.state.mn.us

Ranking Minority Member: Pat Pariseau - 296-5252 sen.pat.pariseau@senate.leg.state.mn.us

Ellen R. Anderson ­ 296-5537  sen.ellen.anderson@senate.leg.state.mn.us

Charles A. Berg - 296-5094  sen.charles.berg@senate.leg.state.mn.us

Steve Dille - 296-4131  sen.steve.dille@senate.leg.state.mn.us

Dennis R. Frederickson - 296-8138 sen.dennis.frederickson@senate.leg.state.mn.us

Linda I.Higgins - 296-9246 sen.linda.higgins@senate.leg.state.mn.us  

Anthony G. "Tony" Kinkel - 296-4913 sen.tony.kinkel@senate.leg.state.mn.us

David L. Knutson ­ 296-4120 sen.david.knutson@senate.leg.state.mn.us

Bob Lessard - 296-4136 sen.bob.lessard@senate.leg.state.mn.us

Gen Olson - 296-1282 sen.gen.olson@senate.leg.state.mn.us

Lawrence J. Pogemiller - 296-7809 sen.larry.pogemiller@senate.leg.state.mn.us

Leonard R. Price - 297-8060  sen.len.price@senate.leg.state.mn.us

Twyla Ring - 296-5419   sen.twyla.ring@senate.leg.state.mn.us

Dan Stevens - 296-8075   sen.da.stevens@senate.leg.state.mn.us

LeRoy A. Stumpf  - 296-8660  sen.leroy.stumpf@senate.leg.state.mn.us

Jim Vickerman - 296-5650  sen.jim.vickerman@senate.leg.state.mn.us

Click Here for More BWCA News

Free Shipping & No Sales Tax on $40 or More!
Your Banner Could be Here

Roadless Area Archives:

Sept 5 Roadless Input Needed

Aug 22 Roadless Input Needed

Aug 20 OHV User Group Forming

Aug 8 Threatening BWCA

Aug 8 Input Needed

June 28 Dayton to Overturn

April 26 Roadless Appeal

April 11 OHV Legislation

March 28 Roadless

March 23 Roadless at Risk

March 13 ATV

March 12 Wild Alert

2000 Roadless Archives:

Proposed Roadless Mtgs

Roadless Area Proposal

Additional Information

2002 Roadless Area Archives:

Implementation of Roadless Area Urged

Jan 10 Roadless Anniversary

Jan 4 Reconsider ATV Trail